top of page
Search

Day Five - Traveling Companions

Updated: May 9, 2023


Kinsey’s enthusiasm for their new cross-country adventure was contagious. Scott watched Johnny start out strong and determined.


“No half-pint…it’s best I stay here.”


“Why?”


“Well…I never traveled much.”


“Why?”


“Well...I’m not very good at it.”


“How do you know?”


“Know what?”


“How do you know you’re not good at something if you don’t do it?”


Johnny looked at Scott in hopes his older brother would step into the conversation to help. How many times had he heard Scott tell Kinsey “no means no” over the last few days? Where were these words of wisdom now when they’re desperately needed? Scott simply smiled and crossed his arms.


“Darlin’, I don’t need to …what was it again?”


“Broaden your horizons.”


“Right. My horizons are just fine.”


“How do you know?”


“I just know.”


“How do you know if you never tried to broaden them?”


Johnny stared at Kinsey. Why isn’t she throwing one of her tantrums she’s so famous for? It’s a helluva lot easier to tell this girl “no” during one of those thunderstorms. Johnny glanced over to Scott. And where are those stern looks he was tossing out all week?


“Please Johnny. It would mean so much to me.”


Bingo.


Scott watched Johnny slowly give in, rally for a moment, and then the slow descent into agreement. The fella never had a chance. His younger brother was rewarded for his surrender with a kiss on the cheek. In search of Murdoch to tell him the good news, Kinsey bounded out of the room.


“Well, at least I got a kiss.”


“Remind me to tell you about Sean Willowby.”


Silence fell between the brothers.

“I’m surprised you‘re agreeing with all of this….me comin’ along.”


Scott knew this conversation was eventually going to take place. Better it happens now and not halfway across the country.

“You have grown very fond of Kinsey, haven’t you?”


“I’m not going to lie to you Boston. Yes I have. She’s adventurous, independent…that temper of hers could come down a notch or two… Johnny paused. “I wouldn’t fault you for thinking Kinsey deserves better.”


“That never entered my mind Johnny. I know you would never do anything to hurt her...intentionally. I hope you can understand where I’m standing on this. She’s a forgotten relative that suddenly steps into my life. You see ‘an adventurous and independent young lady’. I see ‘a naïve and wide-eyed kid’. I think we can both agree on her temper.”


Folding his arms Johnny smiled and looked at his brother. “I understand. The protective wolf is coming out but I won’t give you reason to bite my head off. Scott, I will never let anyone or anything harm her.”


Scott slung his arm around his younger brother’s neck.

“All right then! Between the two of us we should be able to make it all the way to Philadelphia.”


“They may need to add an extra boxcar for that girl’s luggage.”


Early afternoon was spent pouring over a large map in Murdoch’s study to determine what cities to visit while they make their way across the country.


“Salt Lake City.”


“What about Denver?”


“And Chicago! We need to go to Chicago.”


Moving outside to enjoy the late afternoon breeze the soon-to-be travelers reminisced over some of the past days more laughable moments which led to further stories during supper.


The full moon was rising as Scott sat in his room at his desk when there was a small knock on his door.


“Are you busy?”


“Are you packed?”


Kinsey stepped inside the room. “Yes. I’m down to three pieces of luggage so Johnny won’t need the additional boxcar. What are you doing? Writing a letter?”


“Yes and speaking of letters did you finish the one I told you to write to your grandfather explaining we will be arriving in Philadelphia later than first thought?”


“Yes…well no…I will.”


“You’re not getting on the train until you do.”


Kinsey sat down on Scott’s bed.

“Are you writing a letter to Maddie?”


“I’m trying to. More than I can say about you and the letter to your grandfather.”


“Do you love her?”


Scott set down his fountain pen.


“It’s a perfectly acceptable question Scott. Do you love her?”


“I’m not sure Kinsey. I’d like to think that’s where our relationship will eventually lead.”


“I was briefly in love once.”


“Briefly?”


“Oh yes. He was everything I wanted in a man. Tall. Handsome. Older. Wiser. And then as quickly as he came into my life he was gone.”


Scott frowned and reached out to place his hand on his cousin’s shoulder. “I’m so sorry Honey. What happened?”


“He despised tea parties and ran home.”


“Wait. Are you referring to meeting my buddy George when you were eight years old?”


A giggle escaped from the little cousin.


Scott’s eyes narrowed while pointing a finger. “Go to your room, set your bottom down and write that letter to you Grandfather.”


A devilish grin accompanied a good night.


Kinsey opened the door and turned. “Scott?”


“Yes?”


“Did you and George remain friends?”


“Yes we did. In fact, we enlisted in the Union Army together.”


“Where is he now?”


Scott paused. “Washington D.C.”


“Then we must add Washington D.C. to our list so you can visit George! ‘Nite!”


Scott looked out his window.

It would be good to visit George again. It had been too long.


They would definitely make time to travel to Arlington.

138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Holes

The Wolf

bottom of page